Wacom Tablet Digital Art First Impression

I’ve been doing digital art using a Wacom tablet for a month now. I got my Wacom tablet last December as a gift from my dad. I thank him a lot for that for giving me a new way of doing art works. If you’re wondering, the digital tablet is Wacom Intuos Art Pen and Touch Small. I’m recommending it if you’re just starting out digital art.

Last September, I went to my classmate’s house to do some studying for our upcoming university entrance exams. I asked him if I could try out his Wacom tablet, the same as model as mine but he got Wacom Intuos Sketch; he agreed and let me try it out. At first, I thought it was really easy, it turns out that it’s a lot more different than drawing on a piece of paper. He also said that it was also hard to draw using a tablet and he prefers to draw traditionally instead.

Now the good thing about using a Wacom tablet or any other digital tablet is you can use programs such as Photoshop to make or draw something. An advantage of using Photoshop and other similar application is you can make a layer for sketch, a layer for outline, a layer for colors, etc.. That’s one thing that I like the most when drawing from a digital tablet. Though, it really is a lot different from a traditional way of making art. You might want to know a lot of shortcut keys when you’re planning to try out digital art, as you’re going to use ctrl + z a lot.

That concludes my overall first impression of using a Wacom tablet when drawing. It takes time and a lot of patience in order to improve in doing digital art. It’s the same as traditional drawing; you need to work hard and hard for you to improve.

4 thoughts on “Wacom Tablet Digital Art First Impression”

Leave a Reply

